So today is the beginning of my official student house hunt.

I hated going to look at houses with my parents when we moved. For every house we looked at, every house which was perfect they found a fault. ‘Wrong place’, ‘too far from the school’ and the obvious ‘not enough parking’. But now we have a different set of worries.

Two of my flat mates don’t care where they live next year, and the third doesn’t even know if she’s going to be around. But after dealing with my parents, I have a list of things that expect from a house.

It didn’t take long to realise that I’m going to have to fight tooth and nail to get somewhere nice to live next year. I’ve always lived in a spacious environment, and being squashed into the box that I have for a room in halls is not what I call wonderful.

Maybe it’s just me, but I’d quite like to have a nice place to live for the next two years, and possibly for another year after that. I’m not particularly fussed at how much it may cost, so long as its affordable; I just want somewhere comfortable.

I think if I could feasibly manage on my own, I would. I’d love a little apartment to myself, somewhere that I could call mine.

We’ve got to struggle to balance an ever growing work load with the demands of finding a new home. I find the system totally unfair, surely a landlord could wait to the summer; we’re not going to be moving in until August at the earliest.

 

It seems that all the world wants to do is rush us. Why can’t we for once just go a little slower, and enjoy what we have.

