My grandparents came to visit today. They stopped by for lunch as they were passing through.

To some this won’t be a big thing, but to me it’s huge. I don’t often get visits at University, I am a 3 hour drive from home, where my parents always work, my little sister is still in school and my grandfather isn’t always well enough to drive.

Today they are heading towards the National Show. My Grandfather restores classic cars, health permitting. And they decided that they could stop to have lunch on the way. They brought lunch with them, and for the first time in almost three years I have eaten a homemade lunch with them.

It was wonderful to be able to catch up with them. Granddad has just bought another classic car, this time to take my baby sister to her year 11 prom, it’s more of a school leavers ball, but she’s calling it prom. (I’ll post pictures when it’s finished.) My Nana is still herself, lecturing me on my sweetie intake; apparantly too much processed sugar is bad for you, I’ll believe it when I see it.

Today is also my little sister’s last offical day at school. She’s growing up, but she’s always going to be the baby of our family, always going to be my baby sister. Aparantly it wass my Nana’s idea to bring her down to stay and leave her with me, daddy said no to the idea.

I know I’m waffling, but I’m sitting here trying not to cry. I miss them all, and I miss them more now than I did at the beginning of the term. A week tomorrow I go home, and it can’t come quickly enough.

