This is how the blurb describes the story of Parade’s End, Ford Madox Ford. While The Guardian describes it as the “finest English novel about the Great War”. And I’m really looking forward to reading it.

This is going to be my first book of the summer challenge. I can’t say single novel as Parade’s End is a tetrology consisting of Some Do Not… (1924), No More Parades (1925), A Man Could Stand Up – (1926) and Last Post (1928).

There have been two television adaptions, one in 1964 starring Ronald Hines and Judi Dench, and another in 2012 starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Rebecca Hall. I watched the 2012 version last september as it was broadcast on BBC 2, produced by BBC, HBO and VRT, written by Tom Stobbard. I enjoyed the show, but as with any adaption I found myself wondering how true to the original work it was.

Parade’s End is based on the authors experience of the First World War, where he served as an Infintary Soldier. It tells the story of Christopher Tiejens, a land owner and Government Statistician, who goes to serve his country on the front. The whole tale spans more than a decade, and at 906 pages should be worth the read.

R x

