Yesterday I found my head spinning with the thought of reading another word of No More Parades… It’s not that I’ve given up on the epic novels of Ford Madox Ford, only that I found myself in need of a break from the complex writing structures of Ford.

I went digging through my kindle and found “Bought: Destitute yet Defiant”. It’s a Mills and Boon Modern Romance, also known as Harlequin Romances in North America. I picked it up for free on Amazon UK a while back and kept telling myself that one day I would get round to reading it.

Link: Sarah Morgan – Bought: Destitute yet Defiant

I find that most of the cheap romances that I read have the typical format of guy finds girl, they fall in love without telling the other, loads of emotional trauma, with a happy ending just to make everything right again. And this did not stray too far from the pattern; not to say I didn’t love it.

What can I say, I’m a sucker for happy ending’s…

Sarah Morgan spins us a beautiful tale of misunderstandings and missed opportunities. We are introduced in the very beginning to Jessie, a beautiful girl with an equally amazing voice, who’s singing in a rather shady bar tucked away amongst the rough edges of London. She’s singing, yet she knows that tonight she may die. She is our distressed damsel, who we, as readers are bound to follow, to sympathize with and really, really want to give her a hug and tell her that everything is going to be okay.

Our hero is Silvio, a Sicilian businessman who grew up on London’s mean streets. He’s know Jessie since she was five years old, and blames himself for the death of her brother. He’s loved her since she was eighteen, and regrets leaving her behind when she threw him from her life. Now Silvio has returned to the shadows of London to rescue his girl, and give her the life she always deserved.

For a free e-book, I thought it was a good read. I laughed, I cried and I had my heart broken alongside Jessie. It only took a couple of hours to read, but it was a delightful break from the WW1 trenches. The Amazon UK link is here: Kindle Edition. While the Mills and Boon link is connected to the picture.

On a random point, there will come a time when you notice that there are a number of what my mother would call “Trashy Romances” dropped in amongst everything else. If anything they are pure escapism. I have nearly every free e-book group attached to my facebook account, and I can often be found trawling Amazon for the freebies; it doesn’t matter the genre, or whether the author is any good, if the book is there I shall aim to read it. I have the same approach with libraries, my ultimate aim being to have read every single book in the County Reserve.

See you soon.
R x

