Just when I find tears in my eyes, from my own homesickness, Janine sums up everything I would want to say in words far better than my own.

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. --Ernest Hemingway

I’ve been having this nagging feeling deep in my gut the past few days, and it’s taken me a long time to figure out what’s really going on. This is hard for me to talk about, but I strongly believe that the hardest topics to write about are the most worth it, so here goes:

I’m homesick. I was last home almost 7 months ago, making this the longest I’ve been away from home in my entire life. People don’t realize that even though I’m independent and crave freedom when I’m at home, I still miss it when I’m away for long periods of time. See, I’m living here to go to university, and coming all the way out here was 100% my own choice. I’m the one who dreamed up an escape and then packed my car and fled. I’m the youngest child of 4, but oddly enough I…

View original post 610 more words

