I know I tried and failed at posting throughout advent, but I’ve still been knitting and baking.

I’ve recently been going through a baking slump. For some reason, despite the fact I’ve been doing everything the same, my cakes just won’t bake properly at the moment. I’m hoping to figure out what I’m doing wrong and fix it.

On the point of baking, I made a delicious chocolate Guinness cake over Christmas. I used the recipe from NIgella’s website: http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/chocolate-guinness-cake-3086

It turned out to be a wonderful treat for all of those who I spent Christmas with.

I’ve been working away at my reading corner throw. While I’m not much further forward, I’m working on putting together a few lacy combinations for some of the centre pieces. And I’m in the process of learning the diagonal garter stitch for the edging; just hoping to be finished soon. A work colleague has described me as a ‘woman on a mission’ when it comes to finishing this piece.

Speak soon 🙂

