I recently completed a project for one of my close friends. I made it as a token of appreciation for allowing me to stay with her while I was visiting friends in the area.

I found that the Virus shawl pattern is terribly pretty and I am itching to make another. This is the completed scarf:

13882662_10206674942456540_7129672697523224179_n
Hook Size: 3.5 mm and 4 mm

A link to the pattern will be included at the bottom of the post 🙂

While I can’t say that I loved every second of it, I felt such an achievement having finished it. The repeats in the pattern are not difficult to get your head around, it might take a few tries to get it right, but once you get there, you’re good for gold.

For this I had two different types of yarn, a very thin sparkle lace and a soft merin13533126_10206492136526506_2159574184654865637_no. The lacey one was Rico Creative Reflection in Pastel, the colour as you can see is gorgeous. It is however a very light weight yarn, and I struggled severely. The nature of the yarn makes it difficult to frog back should you make any mistakes, it almost seems to felt together as you go.

The black and white were just a couple of loose balls of merino I had in my stash. I am unaware as to where they are from, but thought that they would go quite nicely to frame the sparkles.

The first few repeats worked up nice and quickly, but it seemed that once I began reaching the end of the first ball of Rico, it suddenly felt like it was taking forever. I’m not sure if this is something that a lot of people have experienced, but I found it rather difficult to get my head around. Something that had gone so well, suddenly felt like a chore. A couple of rows later and it was alright again, but that might have been because I was nearing the end, and the end was in sight.

I hope to be able to have time to make another soon, and hopefully I will remember to take more pictures of the next one.

The pattern can be found here. Thank you to Julia Marquardt for making it easy to find through Ravelry. The pattern is free, and available with or without a Ravelry account.

And this is the YouTube tutorial which I found helpful. Thank you to the lovely people at Woolpedia for your wonderful tutorial. I found this set of tutorials extremely helpful, however as always with popular patterns, I’m sure there are many others floating around the internet.

