I currently have two blanket projects in progress. I’m working on a Virus Blanket in DK and a Ten Stitch Tunisian Crochet blanket in Aran.

Virus Blanket

This one is being made from a selection of DK which I happened to have in my stash. The colours were chosen by the recepient, my best friend, and brother for all intents and purposes, Danny. We’ve got Black, Red and a sort of Plum colour. It’s part of the Xmas16 group of projects.

As you can see they look pretty awesome together, and it’s working up nicely. The aim is to do two repeats of each colour, three complete rounds of the pattern in each block.
The first bit wasn’t a problem, it has been growing nicely. But as I reached the end of the final round in Black, I started to lose my CroJo. It feels like it’s taking forever. So I started on the next project in the hopes that a break would do me some good.

But we’re getting there, it’s just fingers crossed that I actually have enough yarn to finish it.

As you can tell from this picture, I’m using my bed as a measuring guide as to how big the blanket needs to be. I’m working on the plan that I’ve got a small double, and if it’s a bit big for my bed then it will definitely fit a standard double.
Ten Stitch Tunisian Crochet Blanket

This project is another for Xmas16. This time I’m making it in the Varigated Pink Aran from Aldi. This is a surprise for my actual sister. Dad mentioned that she wasn’t allowed puppy in the car until she had a blanket to protect the seats. And while Christmas is a while off, and Henry is a little old to be called a puppy; I’m hoping that it will come to some use.

This is Henry, isn’t he gorgeous.

And this is the blanket so far. It’s fun to do in stages, but I can’t do too much all in one go, I end up getting lost in what I’m supposed to be doing and the stitches I’m supposed to be counting. I’m using this YouTube tutorial, and keep refering back to it. (Insert Video link)Tunisian Crochet is a lot easier to pick up than I originally thought. However I keep having to look back at the instructions for turning the corners. If anything I think this project works well as a crash course in Tunisian Crochet.

I’m hoping to have them both finished before Halloween, so I can start on the next one. Or perhaps have the virus blanket finished quicker, and be able to pick up another while finishing this one.

I have about 5 blankets to finish for Christmas. And that doesn’t include my reading corner throw which I’m still working on. I’m going to write a post on that the next time I actually get the knitting out of the box.

